A Student Writer’s Summer

Summer is my prime writing time. This is, firstly, for the obvious reason: that being a student means I have the summer off, and therefore loads more free time than I do during September through June. Somehow I manage to fit more writing into the three months (if that) of summer than I usually do during the school year at all. Last summer, I started from scratch and completely rewrote a draft of my WIP, and I finished it within six weeks. There’s more time to write, more time to refine, more time to plan.

I’ll be honest. I’m one of those students who jam-packs their schedule and does as much stuff as is physically and mentally possible in the school year. It’s not that I would change that about my school life, but the three-month break from having so much to do that summer provides gives me more time to spend on my passion.

In addition, for a student, summer provides the opportunity to go places besides school or other locations in the general area of where you live. My family is going on vacation next week, and we’re visiting a town where one of my WIPs is set. Being surrounded by all the additional experiences and feelings that summer brings is like fuel for my creative process. The other thing I find so unique about summer is that I feel like there is inspiration everywhere I look. When it’s summer, I can take a deep breath and stop to look at the world around me, which doesn’t happen as often when I’m so busy.

All the extra free time lets me write more, and when I write more, I’m inspired more.

I saw this quote on Twitter this morning:

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” data-lang=”en”><p lang=”en” dir=”ltr”>Write every day. Regaining momentum takes three times as much energy as sustaining momentum.<br>DANIEL H. PINK<a href=”https://twitter.com/hashtag/amwriting?src=hash”>#amwriting</a&gt; <a href=”https://twitter.com/hashtag/writing?src=hash”>#writing</a></p>&mdash; Jon Winokur (@AdviceToWriters) <a href=”https://twitter.com/AdviceToWriters/status/742325732131512320″>June 13, 2016</a></blockquote>

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

It’s no secret that when I have more things to do, I write less. Which, as a result, brings my momentum down. The reason I liked the quote so much when I saw it is because I’ve realized that summer keeps my momentum going. When you write more, you have that momentum; you’re able to keep writing more easily.

There’s my spiel on summer. I have a lot planned for this one. Stay tuned to my blog and my Twitter for much more frequent updates than I’ve been giving recently– and I’ll be excited to announce some news for The Voiceprint Project in the next few weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

